What are Chakras?

What are Chakras?

Wheels of Vitality

Chakra translates into English as “wheel” or “turning.” They are your energy centers of awareness described as being wheel or funnel-shaped.  Healthy chakras connect us to God, the Universe, our planet, and ourselves.

The knowledge of Chakras is over 5,000 years old and comes from a practice of mastering the body and mind.  Chakra healing involves subtle methods, such as Reiki and sound baths, to remove blocks and bring your energy bodies (chakras) back into harmony.  However, before we get into blocks and healing, let’s talk about healthy chakras. 

Holistic Wellness occurs when one can balance mind, body, and spirit.
Holistic Wellness occurs when one can balance mind, body, and spirit.

Around 88,000 chakras absorb and transmit the energy and vibrations surrounding you daily.  Energy from the sun, plants, animals, other people, situations, thought patterns, tones of voice, music, behaviors, physical activity, etc.  It seems like a lot to take in when you sit down and think about it. No wonder we sometimes feel overwhelmed.  These energy bodies also emit energy vibrations out into the world for others to absorb. 

A Day in the Life of Good Flow

A healthy chakra system flows with energy and keeps our connection with GGUSSA (God, Guides, Universe, Spirit, Source, Angels), our higher self, our human experience, and our relationship to Earth. We flow through our day easily, taking guidance from above and translating it into truth, kindness, and harmony.  Within this harmony We:

  • are supported and loved by the people around us
  • understand that some of the things we feel are associated with what we absorb from our surroundings
  • can analyze these moments from a different perspective
  • feel light and purposeful
  • love ourselves
  • are healthy and comfortable in our body
  • come home at night and feel fulfilled by our work and the people we interact with

Sound too good to be true? It’s not. There are ways to get there. But hang on; there’s a little more to learn here.

Around 88,000 chakras absorb and transmit the energy and vibrations surrounding you daily. 
Around 88,000 chakras absorb and transmit the energy and vibrations surrounding you daily. 

The Seven Primary Chakras

Seven of those 88,000 chakras are widely accepted and the foundation of many healing techniques like Reiki and sound healing with tuning forks and singing bowls. Sometimes chakras are referenced using words like lower and upper. This reference does not mean one is better or more important than another.

Instead, it refers to your chakra’s location from a seated or standing position. For example, the root (Muladhara) Chakra is a lower chakra because it is located just below the base of the spinal column and the Crown (Sahasrara) chakra is an upper one located just above your head. 

Each Chakra corresponds to areas of the body and mind, and there are various elements, mantras, colors, symbols, crystals, planets, essential oils, plants, yoga positions, frequencies, sounds, etc., that align with each chakra and aid in their health.

Chakra Health

Imbalanced chakras can refer to a chakra that is either weak or overly dominant. Blocked chakras are chakras that are not receiving any flow. Imbalances and blocks in one chakra can eventually lead to unhealthy flow in other chakras. Some blocks can take time to resolve as they come from situations like childhood conditioning, thought patterns, and traumas that have been embedded or pushed aside and require attention.

When working from a healthy system, detecting vibrations and energies trying to alter your energy flow is more noticeable. Knowing your chakras and what they represent can help you find these imbalances and blocks. Just so you know, this is a summary and not a detailed account of all things related to blocked, weak, or balanced chakras.

Locating and Understanding your Chakras

Starting just above your head is your Crown Chakra.

Crown Chakra
Sahasrara – Thousandfold

Next up, your Third Eye Chakra. This chakra is a finger’s width up from the middle of your eyebrows.

Third Eye Chakra
Ajna – Awareness

Your Throat Chakra is located in your throat.

Throat Chakra
Vishudda – Purity

The Heart Chakra is located in the middle of your chest and the center of the chakra system. The Heart Chakra bridges the spiritual chakras mentioned above and the earthly chakras next.

Heart Charka
Anahata – Flawless

Your Solar Plexus Chakra is your powerhouse chakra. This is your energy center and is three finger widths above your navel. 

Solar Plexus Chakra
Manipura – Sparkling Jewel

Your Sacral Chakra sits just about a finger width below your navel

Sacral Chakra
Svadhithana – Sweetness

As mentioned above, the Root Chakra is located just below the base of the spine. This chakra balance with the crown chakra. While the Crown Chakra draws us heavenward, the Root Chakra helps us find balance by connecting us to the earth.

Root Chakra
Muladhara – Root Support

Holistic Wellness occurs when one can balance body, mind, and spirit. Your chakras play an integral role in that. Shifting the focus to a more spiritual understanding and moving away from mental habits and material wants will aid health and growth. Healthy chakras and energy flow in and around the body are paramount to this wellness.  

Ways to work with your Chakras

Feel overwhelmed? I can help.

Ok, great! So now we’ve acknowledged the tip of the iceberg. What can you do to begin balancing your chakras and improving your health? Well, of course, you can always get in touch with me.  Together we can find the modalities and practices that fit your comfort level and beliefs to help you on your journey to holistic wellness.  In the meantime, you can:

  • Get familiar with your chakras. Reread this blog.
  • Place your hands on the chakra locations and acknowledge they are there. 
  • Each chakra table above has a color associated with it. This color relates to that chakra. You can visualize these colors as you acknowledge your chakras, meditate on them, wear them, and eat foods of that color.
    • For example, if you are going to a meeting and are worried about speaking up or speaking well, wear blue, have a blueberry shake, take a deep breath and imagine the color blue. 
  • Subscribe to the email list below for more tips on chakra healing.